Letters To God

I’m currently in a Bible study at my church called, “Goliath Must Fall” by Louie Giglio.  In one of the weekly exercises it asked me to write a letter to God.  I could write about anything–my feelings, my hurt, my joy, my love for Him, etc.  No limitations.  As I was writing this letter to God, I was reminded of how sweet His presence is, and how I missed spending more time with Him.  I would like to take a moment to share with you what I wrote:

“Dear Daddy,

I know I do not express my love for you as much as I should.  I know I fail you so many times.  But, yet, you always have your arms stretched out whenever I need you.

You know my needs.  You know my hurt.  You know my every tear, and you wipe them away one-by-one.  I do not deserve your love, but, yet, you always give love without hesitation.

You know the shame I carry.  You know the loneliness I feel.  You know the secrets that I keep tucked inside for no one to know.  But, yet, you still love me.  I’m an imperfect being loved by You.  You never expect me to be perfect.  You simply ask me to come as I am — flawed and broken.

In this moment, I feel you holding me and whispering: “You are going to be okay.  Yes, life is a bit confusing, but, I tell you, you do not have to have everything figured out.  I will guide your future, and it will be everything you dreamed of plus more.  Trust Me my Child.  Now, put your feet onto Mine and let Me lead.  I know the way!'”


APPLICATION

I encourage you to write a letter to God and express how you feel about Him.  Acknowledge who He is in your life.  Tell God your troubles, and how you feel about life.  Cry out to Him in humbleness and gratefulness.  Be transparent.  Remember, there are no limitations.

One thought on “Letters To God

  1. Reblogged this on Thoughts to Ponder and commented:

    End of Week Encouragement: Letters To God

    “I’m currently in a Bible study at my church called, “Goliath Must Fall” by Louie Giglio. In one of the weekly exercises it asked me to write a letter to God. I could write about anything–my feelings, my hurt, my joy, my love for Him, etc. No limitations. As I was writing this letter to God, I was reminded of how sweet His presence is, and how I missed spending more time with Him. I would like to take a moment to share with you what I wrote.”

    Like

Leave a Reply

