The Christmas Blues

During the holidays, some people are excited about buying presents for the ones they love.  They enjoy gathering with their family and friends as they celebrate the joy of Christmas.  They cannot wait to put up the tree and decorations.  While others dread the awkwardness of gatherings and crowds.  They dread the decorations, because no one is there to see it.  The holidays remind them of the ones they lost this year or the singleness that it brings.  For me, the holidays bring sadness.  The gatherings remind me of how lonely I am.  I usually wait until everyone sits so all the couples can sit together.  I get asked if I am dating or when will I get married.  The response is awkward, and I get the “what’s wrong with me look” or sympathy.  I never feel like I fit into big crowds.  I am always singled out without anyone intentionally making me feel this way.  It just happens.

The holidays are supposed bring happiness and joy.  It is not supposed to make you feel alone and rejected.  This year I decided to make a change and decided to go on an online Christian dating site hoping to have a boyfriend by Christmas.  You see, I made a big mistake.  I have only had disappointment or fear by being on this site which made it worse for the holidays.  I set myself up for failure.

The thing is, Christmas is not about how I feel, but it is about Jesus’ birthday.  I should have joy, because Jesus was born to save the world. He was born of a virgin, and He was God and man in one.  He came to live on earth to teach us about His Father, on how to live a pure life, and what it means to sacrifice our lives for others.  He taught us how to love unconditionally and how to forgive.  Christmas is not about us; It’s about Him!

My pastor talked yesterday about how Jesus’ birth was not perfect.  It was full of disappointment and rejections.  Jesus was born in a manger with animals and hay around him.  My pastor reminded the congregation that the stable was not an ideal place to give birth, let alone our Savior’s birth.  It smelled and was damp.  It was not the most sterile place to have a baby.  The first Christmas was messy and not what Mary and Joseph expected.

We can all relate to Jesus’ story of His birth that life is not perfect, but we can enjoy what is good in our lives.  During the holidays, we need to see what we have rather than what we lack.  We need to enjoy the people we have in our lives today and be in remembrance of those who are no longer with us.  Let us not miss out on the people we share life with today.  Let us not grieve over what we do not have and miss out on the blessings God wants to give us through Jesus’ birth.  We have plenty to celebrate!  So let us, including myself, move past the Christmas blues and start making memories of today!

One thought on “The Christmas Blues

  1. Reblogged this on Thoughts to Ponder and commented:

    My New Blog: The Christmas Blues

    We all have the Christmas blues at one point in our lives. Let’s be reminded on how Jesus’ birth was not perfect but yet a perfect Being was born. There is plenty to celebrate in midst of chaos and circumstances.

    Like

Leave a Reply

