Complacency

Today, I will be talking about a topic everyone has experienced.  We all have been complacent for something we lack or want. We all have felt the stirring inside us for something more.  Complacency can make us feel incomplete in Christ.

Complacency is defined as a feeling of quiet pleasure or security, often while unaware of some potential danger, defect, or the like.  It can also be defined as a feeling of smug or uncritical satisfaction with oneself or one’s accomplishments.  Complacency leads to mixed emotions and believing in satan’s lies.  Lately, I have been complacent.  This is a topic dear to my heart.  I allowed the devil to win a few battles rather than allow God to intervene in my current situations.  I have felt defeated, alone, incomplete, and unworthy.  I have let complacency take over my thoughts and actions.  I was unaware of what the devil was doing until now.

Complacency can be tricky.  When we think we are making ourselves better, we are only walking away from God and His plan for our lives.  The Bible warns us about being complacent.  It is not of God.  Proverbs 1:32 warns that those who turn away from Him are complacent, and their actions will destroy them.  In Revelation 3, it states we are not to be lukewarm in our faith, but we need to be on fire for God (vs. 15-16).  Complacency jumbles our thoughts and makes us lukewarm in our faith.  In this state of mind, our faith wavers and our emotions drive our actions.  An unwavering faith is not complacent.  A person with a strong faith will know who he or she is and walks in the confidence of Christ.

If we are fully walking with God, there is no need to be complacent with where He has us in our lives.  Complacency tells us we need to rush God’s plan and do life our way.  Complacency makes us question His will for our lives, and we slowly lose our faith.  It is satan’s trap, and we all need to be aware of His schemes.  We need to realize the devil wants us to feel defeated and worthless.  God’s purpose is to bring hope and faith into our lives.  We remain confident in Christ when we put our trust in Him and do not question His motives and His timing.

 

3 thoughts on “Complacency

  1. There are a lot of reasons we become complacent. I think sometimes we’re not even aware we’re doing it. Remembering that we need God is so important. He isn’t there because we’re “too weak” or “incapable”…He’s there because He wants to be, and we’re so lucky to have that. Doing things “all of our own strength” can definitely fail. God’s plan may bring us hiccups we didn’t anticipate, but His plan will never fail.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Amen! “God’s plan never fails!” I know I was not aware of satan’s tactics when I was complacent. I even started to doubt God’s goodness for me. God is good all the time and I have to remember that when I am walking the valleys. The journey may be hard but not impossible with God!

      Like

Leave a Reply

