In Honor of my Grandmother

This blog may look different today.  I am honoring my grandmother who I lost 16 years ago to cancer.  On this day, God took her to Heaven to be with Him.  She was my everything!  It is still hard to believe that I have done life without her for 16 years.  I knew her for 17 years of my life, and, as time goes by, I miss her more each and every day.

I miss her smile!
I miss her laugh!
I miss her voice!
I miss her hugs!
I miss her love!

I miss her cooking!
I miss her playing cards with me!
I miss spending time with her!

I miss everything about her!!!

At the funeral, there is a poem I found and put her picture on it to give to everyone. This poem still comes through my email, Facebook page, or even random places near her “Heaven” anniversary to remind me she is still with me.

“WHEN TOMORROW STARTS WITHOUT ME”

When tomorrow starts without me
And I’m not here to see
If the sun should rise and find your eyes
All filled with tears for me

I wish you wouldn’t cry
The Way you did today
While thinking of the many things
We did not get to say

I know how much you love me
As much as I love you
Each time that you think of me
I know you will miss me too

When tomorrow starts without me
Please try to understand
That an angel came and called my name
And took me by the hand

The angel said my place was ready
In heaven far above
And That I would have to leave behind
All those I Dearly Love

But When I walked through Heaven’s Gates
I felt so much at home
When GOD looked down and smiled at me
From his golden throne

He said This Is Eternity
And All I promised you
Today for life on earth is done
But Here it starts a new

I promise no tomorrow
For today will always last
And Since each day’s the exact same way
There is no longing for the past

So When Tomorrow starts without me
Do not think we’re apart
For every time you think of me
Remember I’m right here in your heart

Author: David M Romano

She is forever in my heart until I see her again in Heaven!  I love you so much Maw-Maw!  Thank you for the wonderful memories we had together here on earth!  Celebrate your 16 years with Jesus!

13 thoughts on “In Honor of my Grandmother

  1. My grandmother was very important to me, too, and sometimes it feels like carrying on without someone like that who was such a strong influence in our lives seems impossible… But we do need to remember that when those we love go to their reward with the One we should all love above everything else…it not only eases the pain, but also makes us grateful for what they brought to our lives, and reminds us that we will see them again…and the reward waits for all of us who seek the Savior!

    Liked by 2 people

    • Exactly! Even though it is hard to see a loved one leave this world, we still need to celebrate him or her being in Heaven with our Maker. I am so grateful that God allowed me to have such an amazing, loving grandmother that made me who I am today. God brings people in your life for a reason. It may be just a short time, but that’s God’s purpose. I cherish every moment I had with my grandmother. I now remember the good times I had with her, and I cannot help but smile!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Beautiful words in the Poem April sent by God for your Grandmother, as long as she is in your heart you are not apart.

    I never had a Grandmother or do I have my own children, all 7 are in Heaven but they are all in my heart and so are close by but God has also given me for many years other peoples Children to fill my heart with Love and Joy. Today I also run a Funday School for Children and they call me Grannie Annie.

    Christian Love and Blessings – Anne.

    Liked by 2 people

  3. Beautiful post. I’m much older than you, and my grandparents went to be with the Lord many years ago. I still think of them sometimes. My parents also have graduated to heaven in the last few years. I miss them too. My sympathy for your loss, and what a comfort to know that we will see our loved ones again! I remember when one of my grandpas died, I was a child–maybe 6 or 7 years old. I cried a lot. People told me that we would see him in heaven, but that wasn’t much comfort to a little girl who missed her grandpa RIGHT NOW. But as a grown up woman, I’m very comforted indeed to know that my parents and grandparents knew the Lord so that when I see our Savior Who is everything to me, I’ll get to see them also.
    BTW, thanks for the follow.
    Blessings,
    Tricia

    Liked by 2 people

    • You are a strong woman of God with your loss. You lost your grandparents very young. I truly believe that people underestimate the emotions a 6 or 7 year old can have. You understand what is happening around at that age. No matter what age you lose someone dear to you, it is never easy. It is amazing that you have faith because of your grandparents and parents. Their legacy lives on! I pray that you continue to grow your faith and keep the promises that you will see them again. Praying for you!!!

      Like

  4. Thank you so much, April. You’re very kind. I pray that you also will grow in faith and that God will continue to use you throughout your life to His glory and honor. Then you will have reward waiting when you meet our Lord Jesus face to face. God bless you.
    Tricia

    Liked by 1 person

      • Thank you too and Thank God you mourn with hope of eternal life when the circle becomes complete and all reunited in Christ. One feels more connected to heaven as you know someone personally dwelling in God ‘s Presence rejoicing with Christ Seated on the Right Hand of God. Heaven is personalised directly through Jesus and loved ones. GOD bless you.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Exactly! I am thankful I get to see my loved ones again. I love what you said about how we feel connected to heaven because of our loved ones. That is so true. I even dream about my grandmother and seems so real. But I always know she is in heaven during my dreams. I feel like I still connect with her.

        Like

  5. Absolutely true heaven and earth are closely directly connected and in GOD’S Timing just a nano second distance from earth. So heaven and earth are one big family living in different regions yet closely united through the love of God in Christ through the Holy Spirit.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

