In The Wilderness

So many times we think God is only in the light, but He is in the dark places that we least expect.  If you are going through the wilderness trying to find your way out of a bad situation, you are not alone.  God is with you every step of the way!

Sometimes He is before you making your paths straight.
(Proverbs 3:6, Psalm 25:4-5, Psalm 5:8, Psalm 31:3)  

Sometimes He is carrying you when you are weak.
(Exodus 15:2, Joshua 1:9, 2 Samuel 22:33, 1 Chronicles 16:11)

Sometimes He is sitting with you in rest and giving you hope again.
(Matthew 11:28-30, Psalm 55:6, Exodus 33:14)

In the wilderness, there are obstacles to walk through.   There are emotions that need to be addressed.  There are fears that need to be conquered.  There are barriers that need to be removed.  All these things have to be accomplished before ever reaching the top of the mountain and celebrating victories.  There is much terrain that needs to be walked and sorted through before we ever see the light.  John 8:12 says, “I, [Jesus], is the light of the world.”

God also says that He is in the darkness.  2 Corinthians 4:6-7 declares that God is light in the darkness:  “For God, who said, “Let there be light in the darkness,” has made this light shine in our hearts so we could know the glory of God that is seen in the face of Jesus Christ.  We now have this light shining in our hearts, but we ourselves are like fragile clay jars containing this great treasure.  This makes it clear that our great power is from God, not from ourselves.”

There is a song by Danny Gokey called, “More Than You Think I am.”  This song has a powerful message that God is in the darkness with us, and He restores us to make us whole again.

You always think I’m somewhere on a mountain top
But never think behind bars
You’d be amazed the places that I’d go to be with you
Where you are

So forget what you’ve heard
What you think that you know
There’s a lot about me
That’s never been told

I’m more than you dreamed
More than you understand
Your days and your times
Were destined for our dance
I catch all your tears
Burn your name on my heart
Be still and trust my plan
I’m more than you think I am
More than you think I am

Rumor has it there’s a gavel in my hand
I’m only here to condemn
But let me tell you secrets you would’ve never known
I think of you as my best friend

So much has been said
Even doubted my name
But I’m showing you now
Who I really am

I’m more than you dreamed
More than you understand
Your days and your times
Were destined for our dance
I catch all your tears
Burn your name on my heart
Be still and trust my plan
I’m more than you think I am
More than you think I am

Let me open your eyes to see the heart of me, differently
Come closer than you’ve ever been
Let me in like never before
Bring me every broken part
The wounds and scars of who you are
And hide in me and you will see

I’m more than you dreamed
More than you understand
Your days and your times
Were destined for our dance
I catch all your tears
Burn your name on my heart
Be still and trust my plan
I’m more than you think I am
I’m more than you think I am
More than you think I am
More than you think I am
I’m more than you think I am

If you are walking in the wilderness, you are not lost or alone.  God is guiding your steps and encouraging you to walk just another step closer to Him.  You may be weary today.  I encourage you to stop and rest in Jesus’ arms.  Let God restore your faith and hope in Him.  You are not alone in your journey, no matter where you are in life.  Find comfort today that God is not just in the light when life is going well, but He is in the darkness when life is overwhelming and unbearable.

Leave a Reply

