We Are All Worthy of God’s Love

Have you ever done something or said something you wished you could take back? Do you live with regrets from your past? Do you worry about what others think of you if they knew your story?

I used to ponder and dwell on these questions daily and lived in the fear of being judged because of my past. Would people see me differently or tell me I’m not a Christian because I’m not perfect? I’ll admit I’m not perfect, never have been and never will be. Only God is perfect.

A few years back I used to look at myself in the mirror and saw no worth. I truly believed that I was ugly inside and out. I thought I was not worthy enough to be loved by anyone, even God. Yes, this sounds like a pity party and, in a lot ways, it was. I could not get past myself. The things I did and the words I said to my loved ones haunted me. I pushed everyone away so I could not hurt anyone else with my words and actions.

But, one day, my perspective on life, changed immediately. I was sitting at the car dealership waiting for my car to be serviced. A gentleman and a woman sat down next to me. The woman had a disability and struggled with day-to-day simple activities. She would get frustrated easily bacause she wanted to do something on her own. The man remained calm and kept on whispering in her ear: “You are worthy! You are beautiful! You are loved!” He continued to repeat these words to her until she calmed down and allowed him to help her.

Now, think about our Heavenly Father. He does the same thing with us! We try to do things in our own power because we are too prideful to ask for help. We cannot see past ourselves to see what God wants to do for us if we only let Him. So…What does He do?! He brings us close to Him and whispers in our ear: “You are worthy! You are beautiful! You are loved!” Wow!!!! God wraps His arms around us and tells us we are worthy and loved by Him! We are beautiful in His sight!

So what do you see when you look in the mirror? Someone who is not worthy to be loved? Someone who is too messed up to ever be forgiven from your past hurts and failures? Someone who is too ashamed to tell your story because you fear of being judged or even rejected?

Let me tell you something!!! God never rejects you and will always accept you for who you are! No matter what you have done or what you have said, nothing will ever separate you from the Almighty God! We have the choice to walk away from Him but God never walks away from us! He loves us unconditionally, no strings attached.

That day when I walked out of the car dealership, God overwhelmed me with His love and acceptance. He did not care about my past; He cared about me. I am His child and I am accepted by Him! And, you are His child and you are accepted by Him! We are all worthy of God’s love!!! So instead of beating ourselves up for the mistakes we have made; let’s embrace God’s love for us and accept His forgiveness over our lives!

Leave a Reply

